Vacation Reading

I tried to be somewhat realistic in my goals for holiday reading this year.  No matter what, there will always be a large pile of books (or long list of e-books?) to be read come New Year’s Day, and that’s the way I like it.  But here’s what I’ve chosen to dig into over the next week, to help me send 2010 out with a bang. 

SOLAR by Ian McEwan: It’s a bit embarrassing to tell people you’re an Ian McEwan fan when you haven’t read his latest book.  I’m regretting not buying a signed copy from The Corner Bookstore when I had a chance, but this will give me an excuse to pop over to the Harvard Bookstore while I’m home (where I can visit Paige M. Gutenborg – more on her soon).

THE WAVE by Susan Casey: I am spending my holiday vacation in the cold, quiet suburbs of Boston – so what better time to do a little armchair traveling?  This book promises warmer climates, rogues that have nothing to do with Sarah Palin, and the exhilarating danger of 100-foot waves.  Surfing is actually #1 on my hobby wish-list, but for now I’m content to read THE WAVE and focus on #2 (playing guitar).

SKIPPY DIES by Paul Murray:  I nicknamed one of my best friends “Skippy” back in high school (with good reason, I promise) and still call him that to this day.  So he isn’t very keen on the title, but it caught my attention right away, along with the beautiful Faber & Faber cover with its bright watercolor stripes.  I love novels about adolescence and growing up – and while I may not know what it’s like to be a teenage boy, this book seems to give great insight into that experience (which I can always corroborate with the real-life Skippy).  There also happens to be a copy of it sitting behind Reagan’s desk, demanding to be borrowed…[walks into Reagan’s office and grabs book]…This one is a solid 661 pages, so I feel comfortable ending my list right here.  And I might as well start reading now, as I’m one of the few left holding down the fort in the office this afternoon.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

