All I Want For Christmas

1.  To continue the annual Christmas Eve tradition of “singing” and “dancing” with my dad to the 1963 version of Darlene Love’s “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home).” “Singing” = I belt out the low notes and mouth the high notes (and yes, most of the song involves high notes, thanks for pointing that out).  “Dancing” = Dad waves his arms a lot…and occasionally does the twist, if he hasn’t injured his back in the past few months.

2.  To find someone who will play hours of Mad Gab with me, “dub hest gay hem air ver.”

3.  Enough time to reread the seventh Harry Potter book before seeing the new movie in theaters.  And then I’ll learn how to perform the Furnunculus Curse, to be used on those of you who are judging me.

4.  Ballet classes!  As inspired by Black Swan, minus all of the going crazy business.

5.  WORD to your mailbox: I love getting snail mail so much that I used to beg my mom to send me packages when I was in college…20 minutes away from home.  And what could be better than having the lovely booksellers at WORD pick out paperbacks and extra goodies for you once a month?  I’m hoping the “extra goodies” involve chocolate at least twice.

6.  The ability to dream up perfect, thoughtful, non-book presents for everyone on my list this year—because this card is representative of my gift-giving style all too often.

7.  To once, just once, know about an awesome, up-and-coming indie band BEFORE my brother (and the rest of the world).  Me, six months ago: “Hey, I discovered this great new band called Vampire Weekend!”  Brother: “Um, they’ve already been on SNL.”

8.  To possess the combined cooking and baking powers of both of my grandmothers.  I can’t live off omelettes and banana bread forever, people.

9.  A wallet that doesn’t cost more money than I can regularly afford to keep in it.

10.  To embrace the saying “out with the old, in with the new,” as it applies to my wardrobe.  Because, let’s face it, that floor length velour skirt from high school orchestra hasn’t been in style since…ever.  I would hire Andrea to shop for me, but then I’d give her $600 and she’d come back with one blazer.

One Comment

  1. Janet
    Posted December 16, 2010 at 5:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sarah, we would LOVE to play Mad Gab with you! The kids love it and I am SOOOOO bad at it! They love to rage on me when we play!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

