Still Living in the Past…

I know it’s a new year and time to be thinking forward, but part of me is still consumed with all the great books I didn’t read in 2009.  I typically don’t pay much attention to year-end round-ups, which tend to list the most obvious candidates (even within the “best of” category), but two great variations on the form did catch my eye this year.  From John Freeman’s “Best Debut Fiction of 2009” list for NPR I learned that I missed out on, and very much want to pick up, Paul Yoon’s “Once the Shore”, a collection of short stories set on a small South Korean island.  And, in a fascinatingly eclectic list of the “Overlooked Books of the Decade” that Peter Hoskin did for the Daily Beast, I realized that I had to buy Andrea Maria Schenkel’s “The Murder Farm” immediately, because it seems like the kind of creepy crime novel that I love.  My only objection to Hoskin’s list is that it skews a bit British, which I suppose is understandable if you work at The Spectator.

